Postdoc Slam 2018 Finalists Announced!

Postdoc Slam 2018, a celebration of postdoctoral research

The Office for Postdoctoral Scholars is pleased to announce the finalists for the third annual Postdoc Slam competition at UC San Francisco. Postdoc Slam is based on the popular “Grad Slam” contest for graduate students, which is now held at all ten campuses across the UC system. The contest challenges postdocs to share their research compellingly in three minutes or less, using language that not only their peers – but also non-scientists – will understand.

Photos of ten finalists in Postdoc Slam 2018

The ten finalists are:

(top row, left to right)
Colleen Carpenter (Scott Baraban, faculty mentor)
Douglas Totten (Karunesh Ganguly, faculty mentor)
Erin Vogel (Danielle Ramo, faculty mentor)
Homa Majd (Faranak Fattahi, faculty mentor)
Ivan Osokine (Adrian Erlebacher, faculty mentor)

(bottom row, left to right)
Lydia Le Page (Myriam Chaumeil, faculty mentor)
Lyndsay Murrow (Zev Gartner, faculty mentor)
Melinda Barkhuizen (Dena Dubal, faculty mentor)
Sona Chowdhury (Joel Palefsky, faculty mentor)
William Schuerman
(Edward Chang and Matthew Leonard, faculty mentors)


Postdoc Slam Live

The 10 postdoc finalists will present their research in a live contest on Wednesday, September 26 at 4 p.m. in Byers Auditorium at UCSF’s Mission Bay campus. This year, the event will also be live-streamed to Parnassus (HSW 301).

The panel of five live-contest judges includes science writer and editor (and UCSF alum) Evelyn Strauss, PhD; Ann Reid, executive director of the National Center for Science Education; Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Daniel Lowenstein, MD; Michael Penn, MD, PhD, director of diversity in basic science faculty in UCSF's Office of Diversity and Outreach (also a UCSF alum); and Chris Shaffer, MS, UCSF's university librarian and assistant vice chancellor for academic information management.

Thirty-one postdocs submitted their talks on video to enter the Postdoc Slam contest. A team of six preliminary judges, which included both scientists and non-scientist communications specialists, reviewed the videos and chose the 10 finalists.

The entire UCSF community and the public are invited to attend the September 26 event, which will conclude with the announcement of the winners during a post-event reception. The 1st prize winner will receive $3,000, 2nd prize will receive $1,500, and 3rd prize $1,000. The “people’s choice” winner, chosen by the audience present at Mission Bay and Parnassus, will get $750.

Postdoc Slam is the culmination of UCSF’s celebration of National Postdoc Appreciation Week, a period recognized by Congress to call attention to postdocs’ invaluable contributions to the research enterprise.


(Photos above courtesy of the finalists.)