Postdoc Slam 2018

The third annual Postdoc Slam competition will culminate in this LIVE event!

The postdocs chosen as finalists for the 2018 Postdoc Slam competition will each present their research — in just three minutes or less — before a panel of judges and a live audience in Byers Auditorium in Genentech Hall at Mission Bay on September 26 at 4 p.m.

This year's Postdoc Slam finalists are:

Melinda Barkhuizen (Dena Dubal, faculty mentor)
Colleen Carpenter (Scott Baraban, faculty mentor)
Sona Chowdhury (Joel Palefsky, faculty mentor)
Lydia Le Page (Myriam Chaumeil, faculty mentor)
Homa Majd (Faranak Fattahi, faculty mentor)
Lyndsay Murrow (Zev Gartner, faculty mentor)
Ivan Osokine (Adrian Erlebacher, faculty mentor)
William Schuerman (Edward Chang and Matthew Leonard, faculty mentors)
Douglas Totten (Karunesh Ganguly, faculty mentor)
Erin Vogel (Danielle Ramo, faculty mentor)

This event is likely to be standing-room only, so mark your calendar and plan to show up early! (Note that this year, we will also have a live stream viewing location at Parnassus, HSW 301, for folks who can't make it down to Mission Bay. Audiences in both locations will cast "people's choice" ballots and enjoy a reception.) The 1st place winner of the competition will be awarded a $3,000 cash prize; 2nd prize will be $1,500; and 3rd prize $1,000. There will be a trivia contest for the audience with small prizes too. A reception will follow the postdoc presentations, giving the judges a little time to deliberate, and the awardees will be announced at the reception.

Note that YOU may also be a judge! The winner of the "People's Choice" category ($750 prize) will be chosen by the audience at Mission Bay and Parnassus. Read more about the contest.