Winners of Travel Award Announced

Announcing the first recipients of the new Berkelhammer Postdoc Travel Award.

Launched in fall 2018 through a generous gift from Dr. Larry Berkelhammer, the Travel Award is designed to help postdoctoral scholars at UCSF lay the foundation for their careers as independent researchers. The Award supports travel to a conference, workshop, or event where the postdoc can either present their own independent research project or gain the knowledge, skills, and professional contacts that will enable them to move beyond the work of their current mentor.

A panel of faculty reviewers selected ten awardees from over 100 applications received in the initial funding cycle. Each of the following ten recipients will receive $2,500 to travel to a conference or workshop where they can connect with leaders in their fields in 2019.

Zhenyi An – Department of Neurologyimage of compass
Aparna Bhaduri – Department of Regeneration Medicine
Nina Draeger – Institute for Neurodegenerative Diseases
Sasha Gorrell – Department of Psychiatry
Stephanie Hilz – Department of Neurological Surgery
Jose Carlo Hojilla – Department of Psychiatry
Marco Jost – Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology
Robert Newberry – Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Yulia Oganian – Department of Neurological Surgery
Naomi Ziv – Department of Microbiology and Immunology

The awardees will journey to destinations throughout the U.S. and Europe for gatherings ranging from intensive, high-level summer workshops to large-scale professional society annual meetings.

“It’s exciting to see the interest this award generated among our over 1,000 postdoctoral scholars, and I am so impressed by the creativity and ambition evidenced in the applications. Dr. Berkelhammer’s generous support to help foster postdoctoral research independence has found fertile ground here at UCSF,” remarked Graduate Division Dean Elizabeth Watkins.

The Office for Postdoctoral Scholars will accept applications for the Berkelhammer Postdoc Travel Award to fund travel in 2020 starting in October 2019.