Carolyn Bertozzi, PhD
May 08, 2017

Carolyn R. Bertozzi, PhD, a UCSF postdoc alum, was recently inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame at a May 4 ceremony held at the National Building Museum in Washington, DC. Bertozzi, who did her postdoc with Steven Rosen at UCSF in the early 1990s, is being honored for inventing the field of bioorthogonal chemistry, which allows researchers to chemically modify molecules within living systems.

Paul Ekman is interviewed at UCSF Postdoc Research Symposium
July 20, 2016

UCSF Gathering Showcases Postdoc Research, Addresses Futures

By Mitzi Baker

Paul Ekman, PhD, best known for his work making sense of nonverbal behavior, emphasized the importance of his postdoctoral training at UC San Francisco as a “critical launching pad” for his later work that has included working on a Pixar movie and collaborating with the Dalai Lama.

June 14, 2016

UC San Francisco stands with Orlando and the loved ones of those impacted by the horrific attack on June 12 and reaffirms our commitment to nurturing a campus culture that is welcoming and supportive of our LGBT students, staff, and faculty.

The Graduate Division would like to encourage our friends and colleagues to show personal support and solidarity with our LGBT students and colleagues by attending the following events, open to the entire campus community.

UCSF Stands with Orlando Events and Activities:

Postdocs participate in UCSF MIND Program event.
May 11, 2016

The UC San Francisco Graduate Division, in collaboration with the UCSF Office for Postdoctoral Scholars and the UCSF Office of Career and Professional Development, has published findings and conclusions from a study of postdoctoral career outcomes initiated in 2014. The paper, entitled “Tracking Career Outcomes for Postdoctoral Scholars: A Call to Action,” was published in May in PLOS Biology. Elizabeth Silva, PhD, associate dean of graduate programs, was lead author on the paper.